Using Google Forms for formative assessment #GAFE

The other day I tweeted asking for suggestions for the best student response apps to use for formative assessment, assuming that Socrative would be the best. Aaron Davis asked why I wasn’t thinking about using Google Forms, given that DEC schools now have access to GAFE. Initially I was skeptical, thinking it wouldn’t give me immediate access to responses, but after a quick play I discovered that I was wrong.

I trialled my new toy today with year 12. I wanted to test they understood the requirements of our latest module which I had presented to them the day before through a PPT. I create a ten question quiz, created a short link and then posted it to Edmodo. It took students about 5 minutes to complete, and then I posted up the collective results from the class, and went through what were the right answers. They best thing is that it is totally anonymous (one of my students shouted out, ‘I hope it’s anonymous!’ just before I revealed the results, lol), so students didn’t need to feel embarrassed if they got a question wrong, however they knew themselves when they got one wrong, and why, through my discussion of the answers with the whole class.

Below is a super quick tutorial for how to make your own formative assessment quiz using Google Forms. 

1. Open Google Drive and select ‘new’.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.02.59 pm

2. Move your cursor to the bottom to where it says ‘more’ and then click on ‘Google Forms’.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.03.11 pm

3. Add a title to your form – this will be the name of the quiz your students see.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.04.01 pm

4. Type in your first question – it automatically defaults to multiple-choice, you need it to be multiple-choice for this formative assessment style quiz.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.03.38 pm

5. Add in possible answers then click ‘required question’ and then click ‘done’.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.04.13 pm

6. Repeat until you’ve added all of your questions.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.04.18 pm

7. Scroll back to the top and unselect ‘Require NSW Dept of Education and Communities login to view this form’ – this will take too long, and slow down your students’ responses. Check ‘Show progress bar at the bottom of form pages’ and check ‘shuffle question order’.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.03.57 pm

If you want to check their your quiz looks awesome, you can do that by clicking ‘view’ in the toolbar, and then click on ‘live form’.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.05.15 pm

It will open a new tab, and look pretty neat, like my one:

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.05.22 pm

8. Back on your original Google Form, scroll back to the bottom and click ‘send form’.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.04.51 pm

9. Click ‘short url’ and copy the URL. Share this with your class via your preferred method – I use Edmodo because it’s super quick and easy.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.05.03 pm

10. Once your students all tell you they are all done, go to the back to the top of the Google Forms doc and click ‘responses’ on the top tool bar.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.04.34 pm

11. Click ‘summary of responses’ and you a new document will open pie chart responses for all questions, and a little summary of how many people picked each response. Now you can go through the correct answers and discuss why they were right, as a class.

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.05.38 pm

Screen Shot 2015-06-11 at 7.05.48 pm

That’s it – so easy, huh? I’m making one now for my year 12 class to test their understanding of the plot of Henry IV, because we went through it in class today (we read a Shmoop summary that I ‘enhanced’ by using cut-outs of characters blutacked to the whiteboard, moving them around to follow the action of the play). I can’t wait to see if they remember the plot as well as I hoped they did, but if they didn’t that’s OK, because I’ll make sure I plug the gaps in their learning – that’s my job after all, right? 🙂

12 thoughts on “Using Google Forms for formative assessment #GAFE

  1. Great work, Bianca. I’ve not used Google Apps before and this makes it look dead easy. For those who haven’t used GAFE and don’t want to they could try this. If you wanted to you could use Office Mix (a plugin for PowerPoint) to embed those questions (or any questions) within your slideshow, which could be then embedded in Edmodo (or another LMS). The analytics part (found in My Mixes on the Mix website) would give you similar results, allowing you to see what questions were answered correctly, how long people spent on each slide, etc.

  2. I’ve used Google Docs for surveys but not in this way. I think the anonymity would appeal. My classes love Kahoot! Quizzes and I find them useful for both pre and post testing, but they take up a lot more time, have to be done together and the discussion can be a bit limited because the kids just want to play …again!

      • Hi….I too have used Google forms in experimentation with my current Yr 4 class. Like the data if gives back …plus the fact you can import diagrams and pics. At our school we do a lot of pre and post testing. Especially in Maths. A lot of paper to mark. It was and still is tedious. Have also used testmoz.com. Similar to Google docs, gives a lot of stats for each question class attempts; however not anonymous in display, and no diagram imports. Plus does not give nice pie charts like Google Docs. Going to pursue my AP to move towards digital formative testing formats this term…so wish me luck. Lastly…have you heard of “Plickers” ? https://plickers.com/
        I,m going to check it out this wk before back to Term 3.

      • Thanks for your comment! I have heard of Plickers – I was shown it by Shannon Miller and hope to use it with staff at next week’s staff development day. It’s actually quite amazing, huh?

  3. Pingback: Plickers – ficou fácil a correção dos testes em sala de aula | Blog do Enio de Aragon

  4. Hi Bianca, I used this on my last teaching placement and it’s fantastic.

    You can also link it up to an auto-grading add-on called Flubaroo which will send back immediate feedback to students via email. I’ve often used it this way to differentiate learning tasks, i.e. if you scored between 1-3 choose this task, if you scored between 4-6 choose this one, etc. I also really like your idea of putting the responses up on the screen and discussing them, that would be a great way of working through exam questions for senior years subjects.

  5. I used a Google as a voting tool after my class had made and then screened their films. They voted on best concept, actor, use of special effects etc. i was able to project the charts for each category and easily see who had the most votes. Then I awarded chocolate! Lots of fun 😄

  6. Pingback: Forming Data using Google | Read Write Respond

Leave a Reply

