Sharing the love: grab yourself a copy of my new book

That title sounds like: 1. I’ve written a novel (I haven’t) and 2. I’m giving away heaps of books (I’m not). Sorry! I think blog titles are meant to be provocative or attractive and even sometimes a little misleading… how else will we get people to read what we have to say in this blog-saturated Internet?

OK, so what is going on? Basically, I’m super stoked because today I received a box of my latest book – the updated HSC Standard English study guide. It’s been updated since the first edition because the HSC prescriptions changed – that change resulted in me writing over 100,000 extra words on 25 new texts! Fun times, lol!

The box that arrived today contained 6 copies of the book. One for me, one for my faculty at school, one for each of my parents and one for lucky Emily Johnston – a new Twitter colleague who is working hard to write reports and responded to my ‘competition’ on Twitter, lol. The remaining book COULD BE YOURS! Haha.. just tell me what your favourite text is from the new Standard prescriptions and why you love it! My 13 year old son will pick his favourite response and I will post off a (signed, bahhahaa!) copy of the study guide to you later this week.

So, what are you waiting for? Start commenting below so you can win 😛 

Oh, and if you can’t be arsed thinking up an answer and just wanna buy it, you can get it online at some point (I don’t know if it’s available just yet), try here: http://www.pascalpress.com.au/bianca-hewes-1/ 

 

16 thoughts on “Sharing the love: grab yourself a copy of my new book

  1. Just has to be Oodgeroo Noonuccal for me. Her poetry cries out to be spoken; cries out to be heard. The powerful connection of people and land turns me inside out. My daughter’s Nan was a stolen child. Every time I read the poetry I think about Nan…her loss and her life. So…that is my favourite text.

    • Congrats! My son loved your answer – he said it was really heartfelt. Can you please email me your address so I can send off the book to you? Bianca DOT Hewes AT det.nsw.edu.au 🙂

      • Hi Bianca

        Aren’t you a sweetie.And your son/s are gorgeous.

        I am so privileged to get one of your books!!! Thank you.

        My address is 19 Dundas Street
        Young NSW 2594

        Thank You.

        I should return the favour. Would you like one of my resources? Not a patch on yours but willing to share one that you might be teaching at your school.

        Take a look at what we have and I will send you one of your choice.

        Regards

        Pamela Cohen

  2. The text I’m most interested in is Feed, because the sci fi allegory of the feednet should provoke some meaningful self-reflection and interesting lesson discussions, while still providing an accessible pathway to understanding and analysis for students less engaged in abstract navel gazing.

  3. The text I’m most interested in is The Motorcycle Diaries. I’ve always been a fan of travel stories, with Kerouac’s On The Road being one of my favourites. The way in which travel results in discoveries of one’s self, others and the wider world and allows us to connect with these is a big part of the reason I am so looking forward to engaging with this text.

    • Oh I love this one too! I read it at the beginning of the year and it really got me. He’s such a great writer. Love the integration of travel journal and social critique. Thanks for your entry… but Mr 13 picked Pamela’s answer as the winner 🙂

  4. ‘The Tempest’. Need more be said? Probably, I love it Miss Bianca because it was the first Shakespeare play I was ever able to fully connect with. I love it because there is so many levels of discovery within it. I love that you can do a Marxist reading of it, a post-colonial reading of it, a post-modern reading of it, and all will give different meanings and all will show that just how we engage with a text is a type of discovery. But it also allows us to discovery the multitude of discoveries that take place within the place. Oh, and it has the supernatural and I love that show. 🙂

    • I think I’d teach this as my Shakespeare text for Adv. It’s a beautiful text and showcases Shakespeare’s remarkable talents! Thanks for your entry… but Mr 13 picked Pamela’s answer as the winner 🙂

  5. I LOVE Feed. So relevant to our lives today- the only difference is the feed isn’t in our head, but on our computer screens (Facebook newsfeed, Twitter etc). It also provides an interesting critique of consumerist culture. One of the highlights of the novel is the “retirement home” fad. The image of teenagers wearing slouch pants and walking around with a walking stick accessory is hilarious!
    The novel is ‘meg’ funny. I can see this jargon catching with students.

    • Me too! Loved, loved, loved it! It is so relevant and so engaging! I hope my analysis of it did the narrative justice! Thanks for your entry… but Mr 13 picked Pamela’s answer as the winner 🙂

  6. I’m super excited to teach ‘Go back to where you came from”. Not only did I love the show when it was on TV, but I’m really looking forward to showing our students what the term “that’s racist” really means. There seems to be a phase at the moment where we can’t go a single lesson without the phrase being said. Studying the text for the concept of Discovery seems so fitting, assuming that the students themselves will have their own ‘journey’ of ‘discovery’ which will ‘change’ their perspective of the world and hence enhance their sense of ‘belonging’ in an increasingly multicultural society! The authenticity of the text really is empowering! X

    • This is SUCH a great reason for teaching a text – the change mindsets! My son couldn’t choose between your answer and Pamela’s so he did ‘eenie meenie miney mo’, lol. I wish I had another author copy to send out cos it would go to you! Good luck teaching year 12! 🙂

Leave a Reply

