The return to class … almost.

I’ve been away from the class full time since the beginning of the year. It’s been a good and a bad experience. I know that as a result of my time working on developing resources for the Australian Curriculum that I have learnt a lot – not just about life working in a office, or how teachers learn or how the AC works. I’ve learnt that being a part-time teacher is much harder than being a full-time teacher. So if you’re one of those brave souls who teaches sporadically or temporarily or shares classes, kudos to you. I hated it. I guess that means the biggest thing I’ve learnt was about me: I am a control freak and I don’t like to share.

Next week I return to the classroom full time and take ALL of my classes back. I’m really looking forward to it although I am daunted by the prospect of not being able to leave the school grounds during the day … of being trapped within the walls. Maybe that’s why I took to social media so rapidly and completely over the last three years. Just needing to feel that I was escaping in some way each day … but now I don’t feel I’m getting what I used to from SM, it’s not longer a place to escape because the same types of walls are there and I’m confident that for me it’s on the way out. Other things have taken my interest … after 6 months away from the classroom and being thrust into the ‘adult world’ I have become far more cynical about the future of education and the impact of formalised schooling on young people (and on their teachers).

As I head back into the classroom today (stepping back in the cage just for a little bit), I wonder if my students will notice the changes in me. I’ll be looking very closely for the changes in them. I haven’t seen my Year 10 class for over a month and as I have always enjoyed their company so much it interests me to discover where they are at and what they’re thinking. Today will be for story-telling and eating candy. It hope it will be a nice return.

2 thoughts on “The return to class … almost.

  1. Hi Bianca,
    I’m really interested to know what has captured your interest away from SM. I’m shocking with SM, I use it sporadically as I need things but find it impossible to engage with it daily as others do. Just curious.

Leave a Reply

