Task 1 – EDPK: Qualitative Research Methods

This is the first task that I had to complete as part of my Masters of Education (Research). I must confess that this was one of the most stressful assignment I have ever done and I know why. I missed three lectures and didn’t do any of the suggested readings. Pretty silly. I am very fortunate that I have a great PLN – a bunch of my twitter colleagues work in higher education (looking at you @effectsofNAPLAN), with one in particular being a massive help: thanks @tloughland. I am also fortunate that this is the age of the Internet so I could find pretty much all the resources I needed via google. But I will admit that it would have been 1000 times easier if I had the book recommended by my lecturer (Cresswell, J (2007) Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design) and my submission and presentation would have been a far superior quality. I am also very fortunate to be married to a man who has spent the last five years doing academic research – and he dealt very well with my despair. Thanks @waginski.

OBSERVATION REPORT This is a PDF of my observation report. One day I’ll look back at this and laugh.

OBSERVATION INSTRUMENT Here is my (somewhat dodgy) observation instrument.

Here are the slides for my 10 minute presentation. It certainly wasn’t the best one, but I was happy to get it done.

 

Leave a Reply

