Re-designing the design … another experiment in learning

Year 10 + Macbeth = fun. Right?

Macbeth has always been my most favourite Shakespeare play. I don’t know why but there is something about it that I love … I think it’s that last Act and the sorrow but not remorse of Macbeth. The dawning of existence. A consciousness of meaninglessness. It’s SUCH a great play. I always enjoy teaching it too. I typically work it so as that I read the whole play to my class whilst they listen and answer impromptu questions for understanding and interpretation. Students have seemed to enjoy it.

So why am I changing my approach to teaching it?

I don’t know 100%. I know that I can’t stand and deliver anymore. Well, I probably can but I don’t want to.

I want my students to own their knowledge of Shakespeare.

So I’ve added a gaming element to my Macbeth unit and it really has been hard work. I created an uber project … with a great culminating task that all other classes are enjoying.

It looks pretty impressive on paper – I even made a video:

Working out the XP system and the missions was really complex stuff. I gave it far too many hours. The dream was that adding this gaming framework would engage and excite my young learners … they would feel compelled to inquire into Shakespeare’s Macbeth and tackle the problem of how to make this play relevant or appealing to a young adult audience today.

But today – whilst I was away from class at a conference – I received edmodo messages from students complaining about the lack of direction from me. They didn’t know what they had to do (even though it is all in edmodo for them to access).

Week one of my uber Macbeth Design Project hasn’t yielded the results I had hoped for.

I might be mad.

2 thoughts on “Re-designing the design … another experiment in learning

  1. Hey Bianca. In a past life I used to direct and produce plays. I have a couple of great games/rehearsal techniques which really help actors/students to access and understand character, motivation and language. Great for breaking up and enlivening the monologues and dialogue and for creating very organic blocking in performance. I love the ‘Scottish’ play:) If you are interested I will explain in more depth. I got the technique from an actor who used to be one of the Dr. Who sidekicks.

  2. Pingback: Gamified Macbeth PBL – a reflection « Bianca's Blog

Leave a Reply

