Preparation for Praccie

Well, thanks to the comments made on my last post, I’ve now got a long list of suggestions for how to be a good teacher and a good master teacher. So what should I do (as this mystical master teacher) in preparation for meeting the pre-service teacher who I will be supervising?

Obvious things spring to mind, such as growing a wise-looking beard/moustache, ironing some flowing robes (possibly borrowing a graduation gown and mortar board – I rented mine for my graduation) or working on my serious stare …. but of course those things are mere external symbols of an inner mastery that I know I have not attained.

Hmmm … next obvious preparation: plan lessons for classes to be taught on the day prac student is to observe my master teacher skills in practice. Plan? It’s a little scary to be honest. Consider the outcomes I hope for students to achieve each lesson and then plan accordingly? Oh dear. My ‘door handle planning’ isn’t going to help me now.

1. Planning lessons. (This will be done on something OTHER than scrap paper!)

2.  Organise extra ‘teacherly’ activities I have in the works. (Including DER leadership stuff; Rock Band co-ordinator stuff – RockFest must get underway; PBL with Year 8 English classes and the organising and getting films made for the DAVAs – our Digital and Visual Arts competition.)

3. Decide which classes I’m willing to give up for praccie to teach. (Year 12 is out, even Year 11 is out … that leaves 7, 8 and  10 English classes)

4. Answer Darcy Moore’s 10 Questions for your Child’s Teacher. (This should probably by number one … if you’re taking notes – do this step first!)

5. Smile and be honest. Tell her how it is, straight up. Give her some boundaries – let her know what my expectations are for a ‘good’ teacher.

6. Let her visit other teachers … it’s not about ‘me’ … it’s not even really about ‘her’ … it’s about the future of education (yep, vomit – but it’s TRUE!)

Alright … that’s the list. I wonder how much of it I can actually get done in the three hours before bed tonight?

5 thoughts on “Preparation for Praccie

  1. Bianca! You sound like you will be an awesome supervising teacher.
    I had a pretty hard time on my second prac, because my supervisor had a really hard time on her pracs, so she wanted mine to be tough, too (slack, huh?). The annoying thing she did was not let me do anything I wanted, and then bag me out for my lessons, which were all shaped by her standards. The other thing was showing her my lesson plans was exhausting. She would mark them according to whether they were worded right, had proper grammar, made sense. The point of a lesson plan is that they make sense to ME, not to her!
    So, that’s some advice from an ex-praccie remembering some bad things. I remember that I loved to participate in anything and everything, so I think letting your praccie join in on all that extra-curricular stuff, or any committees should be good!

  2. Oooh, I just read your other post! My bad… I read this one out of context. But I didn’t necessarily agree with the first comment about don’t let them get too friendly with the students. Sometimes, this can REALLY help. If she can teach them, and they listen to her, then why NOT let her get all friendly? However, if she’s being so friendly that she won’t give detentions when it’s needed…that’s a different story!

    I’m only saying this because, again, I’ve had problems with this in pracs. In my first prac, the teachers I worked with were pleased FOR me that I was friendly with the students, and got along with them. But on my second prac, I felt my supervising teacher was a bit jealous of this relationship. I have always drawn a line between me and my students, but I must admit that I do get REALLY friendly with them.

    Two years on, I still have students stop me who remember me from when I taught them during prac. They tell me they enjoyed having me as a teacher, and they learnt a lot. So being friendly with them wasn’t a problem, it seems!

  3. I don’t find having a praccie that stressful (unless they are weak – and then it can be a nightmare).

    I usually:
    1. give them a tour of the school, particularly where our resources are, how to book the library etc…

    2. Introduce them to everyone – emphasis on the people they may need to call on. (eg IT staff, Head of School)

    3. Give them copies of my timetable, programs of work they will be teaching, roll class lists with pictures of students.

    4. A desk for them to work on (in the dept room).

    5. Let them go for it!

  4. As for visiting other teachers’ classes, encourage your praccie to go and watch how your class works with another teacher/in a different subject. I found this helped me find behaviour management strategies that suited the kids, and it also gives her/him a chance to see kids who may not be good at or like English that much perform in another area. It’s a good talking point for difficult or unengaged kids.

  5. The best lesson I have learned, post-prac (which I wish I learned on prac) is how to use inquiry questions to frame a unit or lesson.

    e.g. avoiding bland themes like ‘fantasy’ and devising specific lines of inquiry such as ‘how are heroes and villains portrayed in Fantasy texts?’ or ‘what elements do you think are essential for a fantasy story?’.

Leave a Reply

