And so it begins …

Beginning something new is never easy and quite often it is daunting – enough to induce heart palpitations and sweaty palms. Beginning something that involves baring yourself to a world of people (no, not in a creepy and illegal way) without knowing how they will respond, or of they will respond, is further confronting. Beginning something that involves writing about your profession? Well, I don’t think a description of that anxiety is needed!

This blog has blossomed from online discussions via twitter and email with fellow teachers who are passionate about their profession – teaching. Many of these wonderfully dedicated, creative and inspiring people keep blogs in order to reflect upon their day-to-day adventures in the education sector. It is with their many informative blog posts in mind, that I have made the decision to establish my own blog.

This will be a place where I reflect on the successes, the failures, the joys and the disappointments of teaching English to years 7-12. Currently heading into my sixth year of teaching at the one school, I feel that I can learn from such reflections and that any feedback I receive will improve my teaching. The true nature of education is beginning to unravel itself in front of me via the tweets of other educators, conversations with equally enthused colleagues, attendance at conferences and reading widely in my field. The true nature of education has also begun to unravel itself in my classroom – a place I cherish, where learning is not only essential but exciting, challenging and fun. And the true nature of education is spiraling out with the relationships that have formed with the young people I havethe pleasure to guide through the journey of growing up and learning to love learning. Yep, teaching is awesome.

A secondary factor has also contributed to my decision to create this blog (despite my fears that I am writing simply for myself) – the Digital Education Revolution. Since the promise of a 1-1 learning environment for all students from years 9-12, I have found myself in a confusing wonderland of new ideas about teaching, about learning and about the progress of society and the individual within it. I often feel frightened by the challenge and threatened by what I do not know. I suppose it is this that I wish to explore on this blog as well – just what is a revolution that is forced upon an individual  by a government? Can we teachers encourage others to see it not as a revolution, but as a vision of our time and not the distant future?

I am so excited about my profession right now, but I am also overwhelmed. This will be what I blog about. I hope you are kind to my words, for my words are my thoughts and my thoughts are me.

9 thoughts on “And so it begins …

  1. Bianca, this is awesome. Its very personal, very powerful. The more we reflect on our practice, the more we can give to our students. They deserve the best and your students are very lucky to have you as their teacher. Will add you to my blogroll. Have a look at blog. Would love your feedback. Also new, and inspired by Twitter! 🙂

  2. Bianca
    Congratulations on taking the next step to establish a personal blog as well as the class ones.
    Welcome to the blogosphere, we certainly do live in interesting times.

  3. Hi Bianca

    Thanks for sharing your blog with us and for the very real emotions you share regarding the taking on of something new. You are very right, though, in feeling a sense of excitement and connectedness amongst professional educators: just witness the consistency with which the twitter stream amongst a NSW team has persisted. Thank you for being amongst those with a hand in the air saying “I’ll have a go!” And, for all of us, there is so much to learn from and with each other. Well done for tossing a few pearls of your own into the velvet bag of our collective consciousness.

  4. Bianca,
    You are amazing! A wonderful idea and I can’t wait to read more. It is super exciting to be your colleague and friend. Make sure you sleep in between tweeting and blogging and writing text books!!!
    See at school in one week.

  5. Dear Bianca,
    If only my son had had you as his Yr 11 and Yr 12 teacher. He would have been enthused for a subject that he began to see as a chore, by your enthusiasm for who and what you are with your love of teaching.He would have developed an insight into the English language and developed a love for it.
    Your students are very fortunate to have someone like you teaching them. Someone who loves their job and can see a way forward to immerse themselves and their students in their leaning in cooperation and collaboration with their parents. Your staff are also vey lucky to have you there to guide them by your love of what you do especially in regards to the DER.
    Well done.Can’t wait to read more.

  6. You may think that you’re a latecomer to this sort of thing, but to the vast majority of your peers, you’re a pioneer. Just know that what you are doing is blazing a trail for others at your school (and around the world) to follow.

    I look forward to your thoughts, your successes and your not-so-successes as an educational technologist.

    What a great start to your year.

  7. Congrats on joining the blogosphere – a place I am yet to venture for myself. I think about creating one then convince myself that what I am doing is uninteresting, repetitive or irrelevant so no use putting it out there… But yet, I learn so much from exploring other blogs (like yours is sure to) so maybe after following your path for a while I might finally convince myself to take the giant leap into the blogosphere myself!

    Look foward to following the journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

