It’s that time of year again … ask the scary questions and get feedback!

I’ve already blogged about the need for teachers to get feedback from students about the projects they’ve participated in … you can read about it here. I’m always pleased when I can go back to a post that I have written to find useful stuff for my classes. (Just saying …) It was cool to be able to look back at the project reflection questions post and modify some of the questions for my end-of-year evaluation by my students.

Being evaluated is important for all teachers. I’m not talking about being evaluated by some crazy external organisation that doesn’t know you from the other 20,000 teachers in your state. I mean being evaluated by the people who are intimate with your teaching style, your skills, your knowledge, your personality … everything. Those who know us the best are our students. They note our strengths and our weaknesses everyday. It’s those strengths and weaknesses that necessarily affect their learning … so it’s pretty essential to give our students the opportunity to provide us with some constructive feedback … and even feed-forward if we choose to use Petty’s rhetoric. (That just gave me a funny idea for my students to give me some ‘medals’ and ‘missions’ about my teaching style. Noice).

To create the evaluation questions that my students will use, I modified the 20 questions on this blog post here. I also used this cute PDF for an end of year reflection. For the second sheet which is all fluffy clouds, students can pick questions from the list below. The E.C.P. evaluation questions are required … as that’s the most recent project my students have worked on and I want to know what they think about it and their learning. I’ll be modifying all of these questions and stuff for my other two classes later in the week. Oh, and here is a link to evaluation questions for you to use for a bit of self-evaluation. Hope some of this made sense, I’m a bit sick right now and it is midnight already.

END OF YEAR REFLECTION QUESTIONS

  1. What is something we did this year that you think you will remember for the rest of your life?
  1. What was the nicest thing someone in our class did for you this year?
  1. What was the most challenging part of English this year for you?
  1. If you could change one thing that happened this year, what would it be?
  1. What are three things you did this year to help your classmates?
  1. What is something that was hard for you at the start of the year, but is easy now?
  1. What is your favourite part of our English lessons? Why?
  1. What is something you taught your teacher or classmates this year?
  1. Of the books you read in class this year, which was your favourite? Why?
  1. What was the best piece of writing that you did this year? Why do you think it is your best?
  1. What project or text has made the biggest impact in your life this year? Why?
  1. What are some things Mrs Hewes could have done to make this year better?
  1. What are six adjectives that best describe this year in English?
  1. When you consider the rest of your life, what percentage of what you learned this year do you think will be useful to you?
  1. What advice would you give students who will be in Mrs Hewes’ class next year?

E.C.P. EVALUATION QUESTIONS:

  1. What is something you did during this project that you think you will remember for the rest of your life?
  2. What was the most challenging part of this project for you?
  3. What was the nicest thing someone in our class did for you during this project?
  4. What is something that was hard for you at the start of the project, but is easy now?
  5. In what area do you feel you made your biggest improvements?
  6. What in our class has made the biggest impact on your learning during this project? Why?
  7. What is something the teacher could have done to make this project better?
  8. If you could turn back time and do this project again, what would you do differently?
  9. What are the three most important things you learned during this project?
  10. How could this project be improved for future Year 10 students?
3 thoughts on “It’s that time of year again … ask the scary questions and get feedback!

  1. Hey Bianca!
    Thank you for your reflection questions and for all that you share with us. I used them today with Year 8 and it was a hit! The insight and honesty was refreshing and affirming. I have forwarded these questions to my English staff to use in their own classroom (copyrights to you, of course!) . The affirmations I have received are amazing and I feel so humbled that I have created lifelong learned as a result.
    Have a wonderful and restful Festive Season!
    Cheers,
    Mosh Mavrakis

  2. Pingback: So, how did I do? Getting feedback from students in end-of-year evaluations | Alice Leung

  3. Thanks for sharing your questions. I agree that student feedback provides helpful information that I can use to tweak my courses. This year I was really pleased that the feedback was focused on what we did in the course rather than on me. Your questions have given me more ideas…. I don’t think I do what one would call “project based learning,” however, my students do work on pithy projects. I think I will borrow your project evaluation questions to get student evaluation on the projects we do. So… thanks again.

Leave a Reply

