The Catcher in the Rye: can stories help young people develop resilience?

I have been working very hard over the last few days to think of a project that will engage and impress my Year 10 Extension class as much as our much-loved Hunger Games RPG (which was so loved one student wrote 14,000 words in 14 days).

I don’t think this project will result in my students staying awake and posting messages on facebook and twitter until midnight (like #HG2212 did), but I do hope it will make a lasting impression on them as human beings. This article kinda gets to the heart of this project’s relevance.

Below is our project outline. I’m about to send it to them on edmodo. Wish me luck.

One thought on “The Catcher in the Rye: can stories help young people develop resilience?

  1. We really enjoyed taking part in the beginning part of this challenge! I had three classes answer the questions, and the first class video is ready (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzjDHYiZ4ow). Sorry the audio is bad in parts…we learned not to film outside! I’m working on a transcript/subtitle track to help you in deciphering it.

    The other two videos should be ready in the next day or so (I’m editing them together so you don’t have to wade through hours of footage).

    But my kids and I have a few questions:
    1. Can they ask you guys some questions? Many are curious about Australia in general (the majority of my students haven’t even left the state of California!), but also about what life is like for teens in Australia. We even made a separate video dedicated to the slang we use here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1K858mq_NMw&feature=plcp). Hope you enjoy! We’re really hoping the BOSS game spreads. :-)

    2. Can we participate in the short story/blog posting parts? We are doing a reflective essay at the end of Night that actually is remarkably similar to what you describe.

    3. If your kids are on Twitter/Facebook, my kids desperately want to connect via social media (which could mean that they WILL be on FB/twitter until midnight for this project too…). I edited out a lot of groups who gave out their twitter name, phone number, facebook name, etc. but since my kids are social media junkies, they’d love to connect.

    You can get back to me via email, on Edmodo, or here. I’m looking forward to hearing from you – this project really energised my students (and me)!

Leave a Reply

